Death

Death. It’s a hard word to say, hear and think about. Even typing it is uncomfortable. Death is a difficult thing to process, it’s a difficult thing to accept; and most importantly death is an extremely difficult thing to rejoice over.

My mom told me this afternoon that some ladies from my church asked why I haven’t blogged recently because they enjoyed reading them. My mom wondered the same thing. All I could say back to her was I don’t have anything left to say. And as those words left my mouth I knew it was a lie from the enemy. This lie began when death happened. Death had crippled me. Instead of the pain of death leading me closer to God, I kept pushing farther and farther away from him. It’s funny my mom said this to me because for the past couple weeks I had grabbed my computer and tried many, many times to write, but I never could get past the first sentence or sometimes the first word.

A little over two months ago my grandmother passed away. I know everyone has lost a loved one and knows how difficult it is to let them go and accept that they are not with us anymore on earth. But this particular death hurt me to my deepest core. I not only got angry with God but also with myself, and others around me. When I have lost other people in the past I remember only going through a period where I was sad and grieving, never have I been so angry about death. To expound on that more I have to tell you some background information on who my grandmother was. She was the absolute best person I’ve ever known. She had been sick my entire life. I remember as a little girl going to see my mawmaw didn’t mean going to her house and playing, no it meant going to the hospital and sitting in the bed with her and chatting it up. She was on dialysis for over 17 years, which later turned into failure of every other major organ in her body. The family had been called into the hospital more times than I can count because the doctors said that there was nothing else they could do, but God would always bring her a miracle. Every time she was on her deathbed, God would turn it around and raise her up. While my mawmaw was constantly in and out of the hospital and constantly in pain, you know what she did? She continued to care for everyone else. She made sure that every nurse and every doctor that helped her knew Jesus and if they didn’t you better believe she was telling them. While in a wheelchair, she baked for everyone, doctors, nurses, family, friends, neighbors, etc. She made anyone and everyone feel loved, and not only her love but the love of the Father too. She was and will always be my hero. She would always say I was her missionary girl. She was always there to listen to me talk and ramble on about my problems in life, and encourage me, as she is the one sitting in the hospital bed. She was truly an angel.

So why not heal her this time? That has been my question to God these past two months. He had done it time after time before, so why not now. I have been so angry with God, because I couldn’t understand why this time was any different. She was only 70 years old she had so much more life to live, why did he have to take her so soon. It’s so hard to deal with losing someone you love so deeply. So with losing her I was angry and that caused me to be angry in other areas of life. I couldn’t accept she was gone and God didn’t provide another miracle so I began thinking he isn’t a God that heals. He isn’t a God that restores. All these awful thoughts began to flood my mind. It all started with anger and bitterness. These thoughts began to cripple me in my everyday life. I stopped putting my trust in Him and I started thinking I can handle this all on my own. Slowly I started realizing I cant. I got so overwhelmed with holding everything in that just recently I exploded on God. As I am letting Him have it, He just wraps his arms around me and I feel his love overtake me. In that moment I realize again who my God is. He is a good God, and loves me, even when I treat Him so badly, and yell at Him, and blame Him. He just grabs me and says its all going to be okay. This was a time for me to draw near to Him, and I missed that, but you know what? His mercies are new every single day. So the next day I had the opportunity to let him pick me up and take every ounce of anger and resentment.

I recently saw a quote and it said, “You have been assigned this mountain to show others it can be moved.” My grandmother was assigned that hard mountain of sickness to show others that there is healing at the end, and there is victory in the midst of trials. I know that through her life so many other lives were touched, and changed just by her willingness to give her life for her King. In this I also learned that it’s okay to grieve, it’s okay to cry, and it’s okay to not be okay. I don’t have to have it all together and most importantly I don’t have to do it all on my own. He is always there for us to lean on, comfort us, and encourage us. Even when I was so close to giving up, He wouldn’t let me. Even though I was so mad at Him and blaming Him for this tragedy, he still reached out his loving arms to hold onto me. His love is unconditional. I am not completely healed from this pain, but I’m okay now knowing it is a process and He isn’t going anywhere. And it is okay for me to take my time. He doesn’t love me any less for it. I just want to encourage you that if you’ve felt this anger and bitterness towards God for any reason, let it go. He is a GOOD God. He knows what He is doing even when it doesn’t make a lick of sense to us. He has a purpose for everything and everyone.

– Hannah


La muerte. Es difícil decir esa palabra, escuchar o incluso pensar en ella. Hasta escribirla es incómodo. La muerte es algo difícil de procesar, algo difícil de aceptar y lo más importante es que la muerte es una cosa extremadamente difícil de regocijarse.

Mi mamá me dijo esta tarde que algunas mujeres de mi iglesia le preguntaron por qué no he escrito en el blog recientemente, porque ellas realmente disfrutaban leer lo que se escribía. Y ella me preguntó lo mismo. Y todo lo que podía contestarle era que no tenía nada que decir. Y cuando esas palabras salieron de mi boca supe que era una mentira del enemigo. Esta mentira comenzó cuando la muerte ocurrió. La muerte me había estropeado. En un lugar de dolor donde la muerte lleva más cerca de Dios, a  mi me seguía empujando cada vez más lejos de Él. Es curioso porque en las últimas dos semanas he tratado de agarrar mi computadora e intentado muchas, muchas veces  escribir, pero nunca podía pasar la primera oración o veces la primera palabra.

Hace poco más de dos meses mi abuela falleció. Sé que todo el mundo ha perdido a un ser querido y sabe lo difícil que es dejarlos ir y aceptar que ya no están con nosotros aquí en la tierra. Pero esta muerte en particular me hizo daño en lo más profundo. No sólo me enojé con Dios, sino también conmigo misma y con los que me rodeaban. Cuando he perdido a otras personas en el pasado recuerdo que sólo fue por un período que estuve triste y afligida, nunca he estado tan enojada por la muerte. Pero para hablarles un poco tengo que decirle algunos detalles sobre quién era mi abuela. Ella era la mejor persona  que he conocido. Había estado enferma toda mi vida. Recuerdo que cuando estaba pequeña e iba a ver a mi mawmaw no significaba ir a su casa y jugar, sino que significaba ir al hospital y sentarse en la cama y hablar con ella. Ella estuvo con diálisis durante más de 17 años, que más tarde los otros órganos en su cuerpo empezaron a fallar. Mi familia era llamada al hospital tantas veces de lo que puedo contar porque los médicos siempre decían que no había nada más que se pudiera hacer, pero Dios siempre le traería un milagro. Cada vez que ella estaba a punto de morir, Dios la levantaba. Mientras mi mawmaw estaba constantemente dentro y fuera del hospital y constantemente en dolor, ¿sabes lo que hizo? Continuó cuidando a todos los demás. Se aseguró de que cada enfermera y todos los médicos que la ayudaban conocieran a Jesús y si no lo hacían era mejor que la escucharan. Mientras estaba en una silla de ruedas, cocinaba para todos, doctores, enfermeras, familiares, amigos, vecinos, etc. Ella hacía que todos y cada uno se sintieran amados y no sólo de su amor, sino también el amor del Padre. Ella fue y siempre será mi héroe. Siempre decía que yo era su niña misionera. Siempre estaba allí para escucharme y hablar sobre mis problemas en la vida, y animarme, ya que ella era la que estaba sentada en la cama del hospital. Ella era realmente un ángel.

Entonces, ¿por qué no sanarla esta vez? Esta ha sido mi pregunta a Dios estos últimos dos meses. Lo había hecho una y otra vez, ¿por qué no ahora? He estado tan enojada con Dios, porque no pude entender por qué esta vez fue diferente. Tenía sólo 70 años de edad, tenía mucho más por vivir, ¿por qué tenía que llevarla tan pronto?. Es tan difícil lidiar con la pérdida de alguien a quien amas tan profundamente. Así que me enojó perderla y eso me causó estar enojada en otras áreas de la vida. No podía aceptar que ella se había ido y Dios no proporcionó otro milagro así que empecé a pensar que Él no es un Dios que sana. Él no es un Dios que restaura. Todos estos horribles pensamientos comenzaron a inundar mi mente. Todo comenzó con ira y amargura. Estos pensamientos comenzaron a paralizarme en mi vida cotidiana. Dejé de poner mi confianza en Él y comencé a pensar que puedo manejar esto por mi cuenta. Lentamente comencé a darme cuenta de que no puedo. Me sentí tan abrumada por todo que recientemente exploté en Dios. Mientras estoy dejando que tenga esto, Él envuelve sus brazos alrededor de mí y siento que su amor me alcanza. En ese momento me doy cuenta de nuevo quién es mi Dios. Él es un buen Dios, y me ama, incluso cuando lo trato tan mal, y le grito, y lo culpo. Sólo me agarra y dice que todo va a estar bien. Este fue un tiempo para acercarme a Él, y lo extrañé, pero ¿sabes qué? Sus misericordias son nuevas cada día. Así que al día siguiente tuve la oportunidad de dejar que El me levantara y tomara cada onza de ira y resentimiento.

Recientemente vi una frase que decía: “Te han asignado esta montaña para mostrar a otros que puede ser movida”. A mi abuela se le asignó esa dura montaña de enfermedad para mostrar a otros que hay curación al final, y hay victoria en El en medio de las pruebas. Sé que a través de su vida muchas otras vidas fueron tocadas, y cambiadas sólo por su voluntad de dar su vida por su Rey. En esto también aprendí que está bien sufrir, está bien llorar, y está bien no estar bien. No tengo que saberlo todo y lo más importante no tengo que hacerlo todo por mi cuenta. Él siempre está ahí para que nos apoyemos, nos confortemos y nos alienten. Incluso cuando estaba tan cerca de darme por vencida, Él no me dejó. A pesar de que estaba tan enojada con él y de culparlo por esta tragedia, él todavía extendió sus brazos cariñosos para sujetarme. Su amor es incondicional. No estoy completamente curada de este dolor, pero estoy bien, ahora sé que es un proceso y Él no va a ninguna parte. Y está bien para mí tomar mi tiempo. Él no me quiere menos por eso. Sólo quiero alentarte a que si has sentido esta ira y amargura hacia Dios por cualquier razón, déjala ir. Él es un Dios BUENO. Él sabe lo que está haciendo, incluso cuando no nos hace ni una pizca de sentido. Tiene un propósito para todo y para todos.

-Hannah

3 thoughts on “Death

  1. jebsoc1 says:

    When my wife moved to Heaven a few years ago, I went into a state of just not wanting to do anything, just wanting to sit around. I was not angry with God, just did not have any feelings about God or anything else. One of the things God used to get me out of that dark place was this ministry sermon on Death. Keith Moore has this great series on Death, told me things I knew but just never applied them. Here is a link to the sermon. It is free to listen to online, free to download or free if you want to call them and order a copy by mail. They do not charge for any of God’s word.

    http://www.moorelife.org/php/mlmMediaChannelCollectionContentList.php?site=mlm&channelID=1&languageID=EN&collectionID=159&collectionName=Victory%20Over%20Death

    Like

  2. Sonia littlejohn says:

    Oh sweet Hannah….thank you for sharing through your grief. I cried as I read this just like I’m sure you did as well while writing it. My joy comes from knowing that she’s in the arms of the one she sooooo longed for. But also my joy comes in knowing that she’s not really gone from this earth. Pieces of her live in YOU, your mom n many others. Yep even in me and everyone she ever touched. You’re blog has helped many I’m sure. We will all be together soon. In maw maw words: DON’T worry honey…..GODS GOTCHA💖 love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

